Eirtakon

So Eirtakon ended Sunday but today I am still feeling the same excitement I felt as I had done all weekend. This blog post is going to be short and sweet because if I was to chat about everything that I loved and liked I would probably not finish for a while.

images

Eirtakon is the largest and longest-running anime and manga convention in Ireland, held every year by the DCU Anime & Manga Society. It is run by fans and students alike and at times rakes in about 3000 people a year who come from all over the world and Ireland alike.

B2_QKF5IEAA_84o

Quiz Time!

While it is an anime and manga convention by name it also includes a variety of other components to. Throughout the weekend you can find a range of RPG’S, LARPS, alcohol tastings, computer games, cosplays skits, and independent artists of every genre not just manga and anime. It has something for everybody.

What did I love about the weekend?

I would have to say the atmosphere. It was so calm and chilled no hurrying no need to try squish everything in because there was so much on that you could pick and choose what you wanted to see.

I loved the panels they would have to have been my favourite. We caught the OSU game introduction panel which was great. The Attack on Titan panel with Caitlin Glass was a tone of fun and the Voice Acting panel with Chuck Huber was hilarious. I would have liked to have seen more but as I said there was allot to take in.

AgfaPhoto

Costume Contest

I also got to play Rowland Raoul Coopers game The Discordia Angelorum LARP. It was a political LARP which had a bunch of angels in a room discussing wither or not to try keep their free will. It was really well paced and organised and the story was fresh and new. I got to play Beelzebub the angel of chaos so I was happy.

I also got to test out the Oculus Rift which was pretty amazing. At first I felt like I was going to fall off the chair but once my brain adjusted to what was happening I was fine. I got to play a game called Radical-G. Its a F-Zero/Wipeout style arcade racer and it was as I said allot of fun.

AgfaPhoto

San playing the Oculus Rift

The artists ally and the traders hall was amazing and I did pick up a commission and some bits and pieces from an artist called Ceili Braidwood. Her website is called Send Me Letters and you should check it out because her water colours and line work rocks. I also found a new online anime and manga store called Kamikaze which has some pretty cool merchandise for a decent price.

AgfaPhotoAgfaPhotoAgfaPhotoAgfaPhoto

Lastly the cosplay this year was amazing. Never have I seen such dedication and skill being showcased at an event. The atmosphere around was also very welcoming and nice. The level of skill on some of the costumes was unreal and the best thing about it was everyone stayed in character, especially the creepy Freddie Fazzbear by Gheistly. You can also check out their art here. But be warned it is terrifying.

AgfaPhoto

Don’t Blink!

AgfaPhoto

Really nice cosplays.

AgfaPhoto

John Stubbs as Mr Oogie Boogie

AgfaPhoto

Edward and AL!

AgfaPhoto

Really nice Jack Skellington

AgfaPhoto

Nine tails and San.

AgfaPhoto

So many sans.

AgfaPhoto

Awesome Attack on Titan cosplays

AgfaPhoto

Creepy Freddie Fazzbear.

AgfaPhoto

My husband Brian with some awesome Star Wars Cosplayers.

AgfaPhoto

League of Legends Cosplays

AgfaPhoto

Really cool Hawkgirl.

AgfaPhoto

Zee Bones and Amy King professional Cosplayers.

AgfaPhoto

These were awesome.

So that concludes my Eirtakon 2014 experience. I’m sorry I couldn’t put more in but as I said there was way too much awesomeness to compile. I hope you all had as much fun as I did and lets hope next year is just as good or even better.

– Christine

CHRISTINEChristine is an avid gamer and comic enthusiast with a passion for waffling She grew up on console games and sugar but is currently veering off into PC gaming territory although she still hasn’t grasped WASD. Originally growing up she wanted to be a Superhero but had to settle on model making and design instead…she didn’t look good in a cape. Her goal in life is to succeed in something but unfortunately there was too many bugs in the coding so she is still stuck in beta. She currently works from home as a freelance artist.

 

This entry was posted in Art, COMICS, Gaming, Horror, Other, Personal, review, RPG and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

